SwimmingU.S. Roster Led by Megan Van Berkom

U.S. Roster Led by Megan Van Berkom

The rosters for the 2023 World University Games (WUGs) has been announced by the coaching staff and officials for the games.

The team was selected by director Ian Quinn and coaches Peter Richardson and Jacy Dyer.

The team was selected outside of USA Swimming, which had previously indicated it would not focus on the Chengdu Games, and instead by the United States International University Sports Federation. The roster includes mostly collegiate swimmers, including several from Michigan, Notre Dame and as well as SEC Scholar Athlete of the Year Callie Dickinson of Georgia and NCAA finalist Megan Van Berkom of Minnesota.


Jack Armstrong, Henderson State
Christian Bart, Oakland
William Christenson, Minnesota
Jared Daigle, Michigan
Jack Dahlgren, Missouri
Diggory Dillingham, USC
Zhier Fan, Stanford
Chris Guiliano, Notre Dame
Bryce Halterman, Michigan
Jack Hoagland, Notre Dame
Tommy Janton, Notre Dame
Keaton Jones, Cal
Connor LaMastra, Northwestern
Chris Nagy, Minnesota


Eliza Brown, Princeton
Eva Carlson, UCLA
Delaney Carlton, UNC Asheville
Abby Daniel, Akron
Callie Dickinson, Georgia
Noelle Harvey, Washington State
Macky Hodges, USC
Sabrina Johnston, Princeton
Anna Kalandadze, UPenn
Susan LaGrand, Oakland
Emily Lundgren, Washington State
Paige MacEachern, UCLA
Lily Mead, Loyola (MD)
Madyson Morse, Illinois State
Anya Mostek, Harvard
Heidi Smithwick, Princeton
Caroline Theil, Texas A&M
Megan Van Berkom, Minnesota

This installment of the World University Games has been twice postponed, from 2021 and 2022, and replaces what was supposed to be the 2023 event to be held in Yekaterinburg, Russia, before the country’s invasion of Ukraine and subsequent suspension from many international competitions.

Richardson is coming off his first season as the associate head coach to the men’s and women’s teams at USC. He spent three seasons as the associate head coach at the University of Arizona, leading among others, Brooks Fail. Richardson was a former head coach at the University of the Pacific for seven seasons and led Fresno Pacific to three NAIA titles in five seasons.

Jacy Dyer is the reigning Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference coach of the year for her work as the head coach at Fairfield University. The Stags women’s team captured the 2023 MAAC title and the men were fourth. Dyer is a former assistant at Virginia Tech for four seasons, the last as the associate head coach. She also was an assistant at James Madison for four years and at her alma mater, the University of Toledo.

Source link

Educational content ⇢

More article