SwimmingTYR Pro Swim Series Fort Lauderdale Day 3 Prelims: Live Recap

TYR Pro Swim Series Fort Lauderdale Day 3 Prelims: Live Recap

The 2023 TYR Pro Swim Series stop in Fort Lauderdale continued with the Day 2 prelims from Fort Lauderdale Aquatic Center at the site of the International Swimming Hall of Fame (ISHOF).

The events on schedule for the session include the 200 freestyle, 50 breaststroke, 50 butterfly, 200 backstroke and 400 IM.

Here is a look at the prelim events.

Women’s 200 Freestyle

The anticipated battle between Katie Ledecky and Summer McIntosh in the 200 freestyle is on.

McIntosh took the top seed in the event in 1:55.04. Ledecky was well ahead in the following heat and touched the wall in 1:57.13.

Meanwhile, the rest of the final is stacked as well. Olympian Leah Smith took the third spot in 1:58.74, followed by Canada’s Ella Jansen (1:59.27), U.S. Olympian Regan Smith (1:59.35), Hong Kong Olympic silver medalist Siobhan Haughey (1:59.70), U.S. Olympian Bella Sims (1:59.95) and fellow Sandpipers star Claire Weinstein (1:59.96).

The event was so stacked that Katie Grimes (2:00.44) will be in the B final with Katerine Savard (2:00.53), Medi Harris (2:00.63) and Isabel Ivey (2:00.99).


Men’s 200 Freestyle

Brazil’s Luiz Altamir was the lone swimmer ot break 1:48 in the prelims of the 200 free, going a 1:47.65.

Ohio State’s Ruslan Gaziev took the second seed, folloewd by Olympian Kieran Smith (1:48.38).

Rounding out the top eight were Wales’ Matthew Richards (1:48.57), Jorge Iga (1:49.03), Mission Viejo’s Trenton Julian (1:49.03), Shaine Casas (1:49.08) and Olympian Drew Kibler (1:49.23).

Women’s 50 Breast

Great Britain’s Imogen Clark took the top seed in the 50 breaststroke, touching the wall in 30.47. She was a full half second faster than second-place Lilly King (39.97), who took the second spot.

Rachel Bernhardt took the third seed (31.09), followed by Great Britain’s Kara Hanlon (31.36), Tara Vovk (31.69), Siobhan Haughey (31.67), Macarena Aileen Ceballos (31.86) and Annie Lazor (31.90).

Haughey made the final in the 200 free as well, doing an interesting double.

Men’s 50 Breast

Michael Andrew broke the TYR Pro Swim Series record in the 50 breaststroke to earn the top seed for finals. Andrew got to the wall in 26.85.

The previous series records was Brazil’s Felipe Lima going 26.97 in 2019.

Club Wolverine’s Tommy Cope was second in 27.72, one hundredth of a second ahead of Olympian Nic Fink (27.73), followed by Olympian Cody Miller (27.85), Julio Horrego (28.10) and NOVA’s Charlie Swanson (28.17).


Women’s 50 Butterfly

Continuing her strong meet, Abbey Weitzeil put together a strong 50 butterfly to take the top seed in 26.37. Weitzeil won the 100 free on Thursday.

Denmark’s Emilie Beckmann took the second seed in 26.58, followed by Canada’s Katerine Savard (26.71), U.S. Olympian Natalie Hinds (27.04), Denmark’s Amalie Mikkelsen (27.23) and U.S. Olympian Erika Brown (27.31).


Men’s 50 Butterfly

Dylan Carter and Michael Andrew were in back-to-back heats, both in Lane 9 on the outside. Both put together stellar swims and tied for the top seed with 23.25 swims.

Pretty quick for the prelims and the outside lane.

Shaine Casas took the third seed in 23.61, followed by Portugal’s Diogo Matos Ribeiro (23.80), Sandpipers’s Ilya Kharun (23.96) and Zach Harting (23.98).

Source link

Educational content ⇢

More article