SwimmingMiami Swims, Dives Past Boston College; SMU Men Win

Miami Swims, Dives Past Boston College; SMU Men Win

The Miami Hurricanes swimming & diving team topped Boston College in a dual meet Wednesday afternoon, emerging with an 201-92 win over the visiting Eagles.

2022 NCAA national champion Mia Vallée cruised to a win in both the 1-meter and 3-meter diving events, while several veteran swimmers led the way in between the lanes to help the Hurricanes capture the win.

Vallée, the reigning ACC Women’s Diver of the Year, won the 1-meter (374.25) and 3-meter (342.75) in dominant fashion. The Hurricanes men’s diving contingent also competed against the Eagles at the Whitten Center Pool.

The Hurricanes’ top entry in the 200-yard medley relay – comprised of Celina Kuehne, Tara Vovk, Zorry Mason and Giulia Carvalho – earned a win in 1:42.11 in the meet’s first event to set the tone for the day.

Miami captured the top three times in the 1,000-yard freestyle, with Adrianna Cera (10:17.21), Kate Sommerstad (10:28.01) and Sarah Sensenbrenner (10:29.27) highlighting the event.

Cera went on to win the 200-yard freestyle (1:49.24) ahead of Savannah Barr (1:49.67) and Jane Fitzgerald (1:51.69), while Kuehne picked up her first win of the afternoon in the 100-yard backstroke (56.53) ahead of Vivian Vanrenterghem (56.82) and Lucy Ho (58.99), who took second and third.

Captain Aino Otava won the 200-yard butterfly (2:00.77) while Jacey Hinton took the top finish in the 50-yard freestyle (23.09). The Hurricanes kept their foot on the gas pedal in the middle parts of the meet, with Hinton (50.35) and Barr (50.99) finishing 1-2 in the 100-yard freestyle and Sensenbrenner (2:00.87) picking up a win in the 200-yard backstroke.

Cera (4:55.36) finished just ahead of Otava (4:56.51) in the 500-yard freestyle for her third win of the afternoon for Miami.

For Boston College, Sophomore Mary Kate Leonard secured a victory for the Eagles in the 200 IM with a time of 1:43.03 – dropping 33.72 seconds off of her previous time to beat the second-place finisher by over 20 seconds.

The SMU men’s swimming and diving team defeated Boston College, 185-73, Wednesday afternoon at the Whitten Center Pool.

SMU moved to 4-1 on the season in dual action. The Mustangs earned a first place finish in every event of the competition.

Cole Bruns, Lance Butler, Riley Hill and Charlie Kaye started off the day by taking first place in the 200 freestyle relay, touching the wall at 1:31.27.

Russell Exum and Joshua Miller earned a 1-2 finish in the 100 freestyle. Exum swam a time of 9:26.03 and Miller touched the wall at 9:34.43.

Colin Feehery (1:40.37), Sage Sungail (1:41.71) and Jack Forest (1:42.33) took the top three spots in the 200 freestyle.

More College News


While the Miami women dominated, the SMU men did as well. Hill and Bruns finished back-to-back in the 100 backstroke. Hill’s time of 50.99 earned first place and Bruns’ 51.04 landed him a runner-up finish.

In the 100 breaststroke, Joe Rusnock took first place with a time of 57.14. Even McCormick (57.78) and Angus Corbeau (58.23) earned second and third place finishes.

In the 200 butterfly, Cotton Fields time of 1:50.81 earned him the top spot in the race. Ryan Peckham swam a 1:52.64 and Davis Edwards touched the wall at 1:52.93 to take the next two spots.

SMU earned another 1-2-3 finish in the 50 freestyle. Charlie Kaye claimed first place with a time of 20.83. Lance Butler (20.87) and Ryan Nordheim (21.46) finished in second and third place.

The Mustangs dominated the 100 freestyle with Bruns (45.79), Kaye (46.06) and Butler (46.20) taking first-third.

Sungail earned the top spot in the 500 freestyle with a time of 4:38.06. Jack Forrest (4:39.68) and Edwards (4:41.02) claimed the next two spots.

Feehery won his second and third races of the day in the 200 breaststroke (2:00.95) and 200 IM (1:50.48).

The Boston College men’s 400 Free Relay team of Jack Doyle, Matt Szekely, Bryce Henkel, and Charlie Clark also secured a first-place finish for the Eagles with a time of 3:08.69.

But it was the SMU men and Miami women who were victorious.

Source link

Educational content ⇢

More article