SwimmingAntonio Fantin, Taliso Engel Break World Records

Antonio Fantin, Taliso Engel Break World Records

The Paralympic Games continued from Tokyo with Day 8 of the swimming competition.

Italy’s Antonio Fantin set the first world record of the day for the men on his way to gold in the men’s 100 freestyle S6 class. Fantin won the race in 1:03.71, breaking his own world record of 1:03.76 set in May.

Colombia’s Nelson Crispin Corzo won the silver in 1:04.82, while Brazil’s Talisson Henrique Glock took the bronze (1:05.45).

It wasn’t the only world record on the day.

Day 7 recap

Germany’s Taliso Engel won the men’s 100 breaststroke SB13 class in a world-record time of 1:02.97, shattering the mark he set in prelims (1:03.52).

USA’s David Henry Abrahams took the silver medal in 1:04.38, while Kazakhstan’s Nurdaulet Zhumagali took the bronze (1:05.20).

” I feel unbelievable. It’s been an absolute pleasure competing against the best in the world. It’s been a new experience for me and overall, I am happy with how it turned out,” Abrahams said.

The men’s session began with a Paralympic record as Colombia’s Carlos Daniel Serrano Karate won the men’s 100 breaststroke SB7 class in 1:12.01. The gold medalist is also the world record holder, going as fast as 1:11.31 in 2019.

Russian Paralympic Committee’s Egor Efrofinin took the silver medal in 1:16.43, followed by Australia’s Blake Cochrane who earned the bronze in 1:16.97.

Maksym Krypak of the Ukraine continued his stellar performance at the Paralympic Games, winning gold in the men’s 400 free S10. He touched the wall in 3:59.62 to hold off Bas Takken of the Netherlands (4:02.02) and Australia’s Thomas Gallagher (4:03.91).

In the men’s 100 breaststroke SB11 class, Rogier Dorsman of the Netherlands earned his second gold medal of the games, winning in 1:11.22. Japan’s Kelichi Kimura took the silver (1:11.78) and China’s Yang Bozun, the world record holder, won the bronze (1:12.62).

Russian Paralympic Committee’s Andrei Kalina won the men’s 200 IM SM9 gold medal in 2:14.90. Australia’s Timothy Hodge was second in 2:15.42 and France’s Ugo Didier took third (2:17.15).

In the men’s 50 free S5 class, China swept the medal stand with Zheng Tao breaking the Paralympic record to earn gold in 30.31. Yuan Weiyi took the silver in 31.11 and Wang Lichao earned the bronze in 31.35.

The session ended with another Paralympic record as Azerbaijan’s Vali Isafilov won gold in the 100 breaststroke SB12 class, touching the wall in 1:04.86. World-Record holder Oleksii Fedyna of the Ukraine took the silver (1:05.62) and Russian Paralympic Committee’s Artur Saifutdinov took the bronze (1:05.76).

Complete results

Source link

Educational content ⇢

More article